From the Principal’s Pen…June 2015

The world needs more writers (and educators… and people) like Principal McGee of Atwood Elementary School. A touching story of family and the importance of education.

Atwood Principal's Blog

From the Principal’s Pen

June 2015

Submitted by: Jennifer McGee, Principal of Atwood Primary School

I really don’t like talking about money. It seems impolite. I am just as frustrated with the rising taxes as the next person, and when I make out my quarterly check…it takes my breath away. Then I remember my grandfather’s words. He was a Methodist minister. He made next to nothing for a salary, but he always said: “I am always proud when I pay my taxes, because I know I am helping to educate America. It’s the best money I spend”. He lived in a tiny cottage in the woods of East Poland, Maine on a small pension, but he got pretty puffed up and proud when he paid his taxes.

So, that being said, first and foremost, thank you!   The Oakland and China residents did, in fact, pass the school budget in their…

View original post 738 more words

About Messalonskee High School

RSU18 High School, Central Maine; The EAGLES
This entry was posted in Blog Posts (General). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

