Apples and Oranges? Bananas?

Often when I talk to parents about the RSU18 vision for learning I find that much of our time is spent coming to a common understanding of what we are, in fact, talking about.  For a long time I thought that one of two things was happening…  a) I’m no longer a good communicator, or b) The people I was talking with were not good at understanding others perspectives.  What I now realize is that we were having conversations where we both assumed the others definition of “School” was the same as our own.  I was talking Apples, they were talking Oranges…

Screen Shot 2013-02-06 at 10.50.37 PM

Recently I read a blog post by a friend and fellow Maine Educator Bill Zima.  On February 4, Bill wrote a blog post for the Competency Works website that helped me realize that it is at least as important for me to convey our vision of what school IS – as it is to talk about what we are doing at MHS.  In his post (below) he explains the issue of Grading that I touched upon in a previous blog post.

http://www.competencyworks.org/2013/02/assessment-all-the-time-why-not/#more-2865

Once we discover what we mean when we say things like “school”, “tests”, “standards”, etc. – we begin to discover that what once seemed like a chasm between our beliefs is really simply a gap that can be spanned with conversation and understanding.  I encourage you to contact me to increase your understanding of the RSU18 Vision and to provide me with a deeper understanding of your view of what school should be like for our children.

About Messalonskee High School

RSU18 High School, Central Maine; The EAGLES
This entry was posted in Newsletters, PBCL, PBCL at MHS. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apples and Oranges? Bananas?

  1. Allen Wrench says:

    Wonderful when someone who can’t even spell banana is the overseer of hundreds of kids.

    • Jon Moody says:

      Dear Allen Wrench (Allwrench@gmail.com),

      Blogging is a medium that requires constant attention, and I did make a mistake in my spelling in the title. I’m sorry that you somehow equate spelling mistakes with poor leadership. We teach our students that “mistakes are inherent in learning”, and encourage them to take risks. One might stop blogging or experimenting (few Principals utilize this medium to reach their students, parents and community) with comments like yours. I, however, will continue on in the spirit of the aforementioned guiding principle – with the goal of improving. We are in it for the students – the more the better. I welcome you to contact me, come in, and help work to better our school!

Leave a Reply

